OCLF COPE Recommendations

State Level


Gavin Newsom (D)

Lieutenant Governo

Eleni Kounalakis (D)

Secretary of State

Dr. Shirley Weber (D)

Attorney General

Rob Bonta (D)


Malia Cohen (D)


Fiona Ma (D)

Insurance Commissioner

Ricardo Lara (D)

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Tony Thurmond

U.S. Senate

Alex Padilla (D)

StateWide Ballot Measure

Proposition 1

Provides a state constitutional right to reproductive freedom, including the right to an abortion. Recommend: Vote YES

Proposition 26

Legalizes sports betting at American Indian gaming casinos and licensed racetracks. No Recommendation

Proposition 27

Legalizes mobile sports betting and dedicates revenue to the California Solutions to Homelessness and Mental Health Support. No Recommendation

Proposition 28

Provides additional funding for K-12 art and music education. Recommend: Vote YES

Proposition 29

Enacts staffing requirements, reporting requirements, ownership disclosure, and closing requirements for dialysis clinics Recommend: Vote YES

Proposition 30

Increases tax on income above $2 million for zero-emission vehicle projects and wildfire prevention programs. No Recommendation

Proposition 31

Upholds the ban on flavored tobacco sales. Recommend: Vote YES

House of Representatives

CD-40 Asif Mahmood (D)

CD-45 Jay Chen (D)

CD-46 Lou Correa (D)

CD-47 Katie Porter (D)

CD-49 Mike Levin (D)

State Senate

SD-30 Bob Archuleta (D)

SD-32 No Endorsement

SD-34 Tom Umberg (D)

SD-36 Kim Carr (D)

SD-38 Catherine Blakespear (D)

Board of Equalization

District 4 – David Dodson (D)


State Assembly

AD 68-Avelino Valencia (D)

AD- 70 Diedre Thu-Ha Nguyen (D)

AD-71 No Endorsement

AD-72 No Endorsement

AD-73 Cottie Petrie-Norris (D)

AD-74 Chris Duncan (D)

Anaheim Elementary School Area 2 Juan Alvarez
Anaheim Union High School District Board Trustee Area 1 Billie Joe Wright
Anaheim Mayor Ashleigh Aitken
Anaheim City Council District 2 Carlos Leon/ Gloria Ma’ae (Dual Endorsement)
Anaheim City Council District 3 Al Jabbar/ Natalie Rubalcava (Dual Endorsement)
Aliso Viejo City Council-At Large (2 Seats) Payal Avellan Tiffany Ackley
Buena Park City Council District 2 Jose Trinidad Castaneda
Buena Park City Council District 5 Connor Traut
Buena Park Unified School Board Area 4 Brenda Estrada
Capistrano Unified School District Board of Trustees, Area 4 Gary Pritchard
Centralia Elementary School District Area 2 Art Montez
Centralia Elementary School District Area 5 Luis Flores
Coast Community College District Area 1 Jim Moreno
Costa Mesa Mayor John Stephens
Costa Mesa City Council District 4 Manuel Chavez
Costa Mesa City Council District 3 Andrea Marr
Costa Mesa City Council District 5 Arlis Reynolds
Cypress City Council- At large (2 seats) David Burke Helen Lee
Fullerton City Council District 3 Shana Charles
Fullerton City Council District 5 Ahmad Zahra
Garden Grove Unified School District Trustee 2 Mark Anthony Paredes
Huntington Beach Union High School District Board of Trustees Christine Hernandez
Huntington Beach City Council (4 seats) At-Large Billy O’Connell Gina Clayton-Tarvin Ken Inouye Oscar Rodriguez
Huntington Beach City Attorney Scott Field
La Habra City Council- At Large (2 seats) Daren Nigsarian Michelle Bernier
Irvine Unified School District Area 2 Katie McEwen
Irvine Mayor Farrah Khan
Irvine City Council At-Large (2 seats) Dr. Kathleen Treseder
Laguna Hills City Council Parshan Khosravi
Laguna Niguel City Council Stephanie Oddo
Mission Viejo City Council, District 1 Deborah Cunningham-Skurnik
Mission Viejo City Council District 3 Cynthia Vasquez
Mission Viejo City Council District 5 Jon Miller
Moulton Niguel Water District Lily McGill
Newport Mesa Unified School District Board of Trustees, Area 2 Michelle Murphy
Newport Mesa Water District Area 5 No position
Ocean View Unified School District- At Large Patricia Singer
Orange City Council District 6 Adrienne Gladson
Orange Unified School District Trustee Area 5 Kris Erickson
Rancho Santiago Community College Trustee Area 2 Johnn Hanna
Santa Ana Unified School Board Area 4 Katelyn Brazer Aceves
Santa Ana Unified School Board Area 5 Hector Bustos
Santa Ana Mayor Valerie Amezcua
Santa Ana City Council Ward 2 Benjamin Vazquez/Nelida Mendoza (Dual Endorsement)
Santa Ana City Council Ward 4 Phil Bacerra
Santa Ana City Council Ward 6 David Penaloza/ Manny Escamilla (Dual Endorsement)
San Clemente City Council- At Large (3 Seats) Dennis Kamp Donna Vidrine Mark Enmeier
San Juan Capistrano City Council District 3 Paul Lopez
Seal Beach City Council District 3 Stephanie Wade
Stanton City Council District 1 Donald Torres
Tustin Mayor Rebecca Gomez
Tustin City Council District 3 Frank Gomez